JC Penny

 

 

A few weeks ago, I read a Yahoo News Article that stated JC Penny Stores were on their way out, as in out of business.    Knowing how much my step-mother (a world class marathon shopper) shops in this store, I found that hard to believe.  So, I undertook the task of seeing first hand what the problem might be with JC Penny.

So, last Friday, on my day off, with debt card in hand I strolled into JC Penny intent on spending about an hour in the store.  Not being an avid shopper, one hour is about as much time as I want to spend in any one store.

Let me say right off that I spent about thirty pleasant minutes in JC Penny and then I was really frustrated.  Why?

A hint as to why is in the paragraph below which was taken from another Yahoo, News Article, entitled ‘3 Retailers Rebuilt to Last’, By Jeff Macke.  

“Not only do I think they’re hot now, but I think they’ve been hot for a while now,” Prabhakar explains. Nordstrom knows exactly who their customer is, a focus that distinguishes the chain from its failed peers, like J.C. Penney (JCP). Department stores die because “they start to lose who their customer is and they don’t know who’s going in there shopping.”

http://finance.yahoo.com/blogs/breakout/3-retailers-rebuilt-last-173649575.html?vp=1

 A typical JC Penny customer, I imagine, would have been a mall rat in the 1990’s and have fond memories of Saturdays spent at the mall with her friends.  She also would have had a mother who did the majority of her clothes shopping at JC Penny because back then JC Penny was a ‘status store’. 

 That same mall rat today will have children.   She will be short on time and she will want use her debt card, not a credit card.   Shopping at JC Penny, today, you’ll note that they have NOT made allowances for any of these. 

 If I were a young mother, I wouldn’t shop at JC Penny either and/or if I did, I would not buy multiple items there.  Why?  Keep reading.

 OK.  So maybe she won’t shop there but her mother might because she knows the quality of the goods.  Maybe.  But unless her mother is a world class marathon shopper, she, like me, won’t buy multiple items there.  Why?

 The answer is something so simple as to be inane is missing. 

SHOPPING CARTS.  

 You savvy shoppers know Target has shopping carts and most definitely Walmart has shooping carts.  But JC Penny.  No carts.   

 

 

Photo courtsey cookingfordads.wordpress.com

What are you supposed to do, carry your stuff around in your arms.  What if you have young kids with you?  How are you going to carry your purchases and hold on to your kid at the same time?

JC Penny move with the times and put in shopping carts.  Americans aren’t looking for status symbol stores anymore, they’re looking for convenience.

And JC have you noticed how many stores are becoming One Stop options.  I like stores where I can shop for clothes, food, makeup, and pharmacy all in one stop.  And don’t forget the wine!

JC  SHOPPING CARTS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

 

A Tiny Kitten With A Big Mouth

 

2 thoughts on “JC Penny

Leave a Reply

