I Remember Anita Hill

Clarence Thomas and Anita Hill

 

A couple of weeks ago, I was watching television and a blast from the past caught my attention.  Miss Anita Hill was doing the Talk Show circuit touting her new documentary ‘Talking Truth To Power’.

I remember Miss Hill very well because at the time of the Clarence Thomas/Anita Hill debacle, I was at home having been fired from Exxon Company, USA after having endured two years of the most excruciating sexual harassment known to woman.  So, needless-to-say, I was drawn to the trial.

But after watching it for a few days, I found myself fascinated by the process, not because of what Judge Thomas was accused of saying, ‘who put a pubic hair on my Coke can?’, but by what lay beneath.

First though, with regards to Judge Thomas’ question,  I would have simply said, ‘I don’t know.  Is it blond?’  And left it at that, or I would have asked another male colleague to apprise Judge Thomas to watch what he says in front of the female staff, because not all women (people) can take a joke, especially coming from a superior.

But back to Miss Hill, and speaking truthfully, I think Anita Hill was being exploited by those in power who were opposed to seating another Black man on the Supreme Court.  Remember Thomas was replacing Thurgood Marshall who had pushed through school and military integration, voting rights for Blacks, and defended civil rights demonstrations.

If Thomas had not been confirmed, the Supreme Court of the United States of America would have been an ALL WHITE ESTABLISHMENT.  And that would have meant a return to Jim Crow Laws.

And that’s why I’m not a fan of Anita Hill.  She may have possibly been telling the truth, but her truth was ill timed and destructive.  And how unfortunate, the powers that be chose a Black woman to take down a Black man.  It was very disheartening watching Judge Thomas’ white wife stick by him during the entire process.

A Tiny Kitten With A Big Mouth

By Eliza Ankum
Author of
Flight 404
Ruby Sanders
STALKED! By Voices

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

