Maya Angelou

Maya Angelou

There is an image in my head of the perfect woman – southern born, well versed, a fantastic cook, a good wife, an understanding mother, an inspiration to younger women, and an upstanding woman in the community.  Maya Angelou is that woman.  She SURVIVED and SURPASSED  her own life and inspired millions of other women around the world.  And for me, personally, she showed me the way home with her book, ‘The Heart of A Woman’.

My name is Eliza Ankum.  But before my ancestors  were dragged from our homeland, it was most probably, Ankrum, not Ankum.  And If you’ve read ‘Heart of A Woman’, you know why that’s important.

Maya, you and Oprah got me started writing and when I started to doubt my writing, along came that book.  Thank you Maya Angelou.

Heart Of A Woman

 

A Tiny Kitten With A Big Mouth

By
Eliza Ankum

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

