Train Up A Child

Proverbs 22:6

I know some people are going to have a hard time believing what I’m about to write, but no matter, I made a promise and I intend on keeping it.

If you’ve read my blog book, ‘STALKED! By Voices, or the ebook of the same name (available on Amazon, Nook, and KOBO) you know that I was forced to return to Chicago, Illinois in 1991 by the people stalking me. When I came back I earnestly tried to get the stalking and verbal harassment, that went along with it, stopped. I went to the Police, I tried meeting with then Mayor Conner, but all he did was run when he saw me walk in, and later, I even went so far as to make a speech at former Mayor Yarbourgh’s inauguration. But no one listened. Or if they, did, the politely dismissed me as a nutcase. But time has proved differently.

Now, this is what you may find hard to believe, but it actually happened. I did all of the above, not so much to save myself, but because God had said to me, “If you don’t get this stopped, it’s going to cease to be about you, and turn into a Black thing.”
At the time, I had no idea what he meant by that. But now, in lieu of Chicago’s (and its suburbs) rise in violence, I’m beginning to understand.

Our Black children both in Chicago and its suburbs have grown up listening to my being verbally harassed without the harassers seemingly suffering little or no consequences for their actions. And that brings to this Bible verse and what God was trying to tell me. Proverbs 22:6 Train up a child in the way he should go: and when he is old, he will not depart from it.

When I came to Chicago, one of niece’s hadn’t even born and now, today, she is a grown woman with a child of her own.

Twenty-three years is a long time to give a criminal permission to do whatever they want in your streets without realizing people coming in to your community will ‘pick up’ the behavior and move on carrying the seeds of that thing with them. So, consequently, we have a whole generation of young Black people who think it’s perfectly acceptable to vent their feelings in the streets. They know, from experience, that the Police either can’t or won’t do anything to stop them.

Therefore, because of earlier inaction, we, Chicago, are going to have to learn to ride out this storm of violence or take strong action against it.
But if that doesn’t sit well with most of you, I do have a rather old fashioned idea of how we can eliminate some of the more persistent and violent offenders. We can use former President Bill Clinton’s Three Strikes Law.

But instead of sending the offender to jail, (when he or she is caught, a third time, committing a crime with a gun) the offender is immediately drafted into the Military and sent to places like Iraq or Afghanistan, where they can shot at as many hostiles as they want.

A Tiny Kitten With A Big Mouth
By
Eliza Ankum
Author of
Flight 404
Ruby Sanders
STALKED! By Voices
OneThreeThirteen

Leave a Reply

