Proviso’s Annual Mission Day

screen-shot-2012-01-06-at-12-43-12-pm

This coming Sunday, February 28th Proviso Missionary Baptist Church will host The Annual Mission Day celebration for its Missionaries.

The Scripture for the day will be:

John 12:26 King James Version (KJV)

26 If any man serve me, let him follow me; and where I am, there shall also my servant be: if any man serve me, him will my Father honour.

I had only a couple of minutes to explain what that scripture meant to me,and why I chose it.  Initially, I said it’s about being a good servant.  Which it is.  But I’d like to elaborate a bit further on what it means.

I am a fan of Downton Abbey.  And this season, the show focused a lot on the relationship between Mary and Anna.  Mary is the oldest daughter of the owner of the Downton Abbey Estate and Anna is her personal maid servant.

We always see the two of them in Mary’s bedroom as Anna is helping Mary get dressed for dinner or some other event.  The two of them talk away as Anna helps Mary in or out of her dress, hangs up Mary’s clothes, and then brushes Mary’s hair.  Not only is Anna Mary’s servant but she is Mary’s confidant.

But the thing is that whenever Mary decides to go to London or whereever, she always takes Anna with her instead of relying on the hotel’s staff.  So, Anna gets a free trip to London and usually Mary says to her, I’ll be back at such and such a time.  The rest of the day is yours to do with as you see fit.”  Not only does she get a free trip, she gets to sight see on the Boss’s time.  All for being a good servant.

And that is what Jesus is saying in this scripture when he says, “Where I am you will be also.”  If Jesus is in Heaven = you’re in Heaven.

But instead of being a good servant, you chose to give up smoking, drinking, cursing, whoring, and a mirage of other things thinking that will get you into Heaven because of your sacrifices.

Instead of sacrificing, have you considered being a good Church servant by washed a dish, have you swept a floor, watered a plant, picked up the paper from the seats after a Service, taught a class, prayed with the sick and elderly, visited someone in jail, given a helping hand to someone who has just gotten out of jail, gone with your Pastor to visit another Church? Have you done any of these things?

Also, this year in the show, Anna kept miscarrying.  And when Mary found out, knowing how much Anna and Mr. Bates wanted a child, she dropped everything and in the middle of the night, rushed Anna to London to see a doctor.   Mary honored her servant just as the scripture says,  “if any man serve me, him will my Father honour.”

I hear the complaint all the time, “my boss doesn’t appreciate me!”  Is there any reason why he or she should.  Are your priorities your boss’ prioritizes?  Or do you have your own set?  Do you show up at work and work once you get there or are you a space filler.  Meaning you’re just taking up space?  Can the same thing be said of you at Church?  Are you showing up every Sunday for two or three hours filling a seat and then you’re gone?

The most frightening question that can be asked of any Christian is, “Have you asked your Pastor or God what it is he wants you to do?  Have you?

A Tiny Kitten With A Big Mouth

And yes, this is what God asked me to do.  And he honors me by rewarding me with a e best-selling book from time to time.

By
Eliza D. Ankum
Author of
Flight 404
Ruby Sanders (a best Seller)
Jared Anderson (a best seller)
OneThreeThirteen – Master Of The Day Of Judgement
Dancing With The Fat Woman
STALKED! By Voices ( a best seller on Amazon.com for six months in a row)

proviso-baptist-church-640x420
1116 South Fifth Avenue, Maywood, Illinois. 60153 Come out and fellowship. Donations are truly welcomed.  Thank you.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

