The Weekend Off

 

This weekend, I published my new ebook, Thou Shalt Eat Dust, and I celebrated by doing nothing.  Honestly, all I did was sleep, eat, drink (vodka and Sprite) and watch movies and TV shows (Major Crimes, Motive, and American Gothic) from Xfinity’s OnDemand.

And that’s what I’m writing about, today.  I had put off watching a certain movie for about three months, even though I’d heard it was excellently done by its young co-star, Jacob Tremblay, because I knew it would make me cry.  The movie I’m writing about is Room.

The movie was adapted from the book of the same name, Room byEmma Donoghue.  It is the story of a young woman who was kidnapped in her teens and held for seven years in a shed behind a man’s house.  She was repeatedly raped and gave birth, in the shed, to her son, Jack.  Jack grew up thinking that Room was all there was.  Until on Jack’s fifth birthday his mother realized that she had to get them out.

The movie goes on to show Jack’s awakening to the world and how some people can accept the unacceptable and some can’t.  The movie was definitely worth the $2.99 I spent.  And yes, I did cry.  I cried watching them move around in that tiny space.  I cried when they escaped.  And I cried the hardest when Jack’s mother took him back to Room.  “Is this Room.  Did somebody shrunk it?”

I knew I was to cry watching this movie because I remember how long I waited for someone to save me, (STALKED! By Voices) before realizing I had to save myself.  I also cried for the thousands of women still being held in sheds and basements all over America.  And those who appear to be walking around free but really aren’t.

A Tiny Kitten With A Big Mouth

By

Eliza D. Ankum
Author of
Flight 404
Ruby Sanders
Jared Anderson
OneThreeThirteen – Master Of The Day Of Judgment
Dancing With The Fat Woman
Thou Shalt Eat Dust
STALKED! By Voices
https:24thehuntforrednovember.wordpress.com

 

 

Leave a Reply

