What I Want For Christmas

6737c50bc80d5bd532af5e95f2216eb5

When I was a poor broke black teenager, and living on the West side of Chicago, I used to wish for a beautiful long pink bathrobe for Christmas. And peace on earth.

serbian20party2020brant20house_136

And in my twenties, I used to wish to be invited to the best parties. And peace on earth.

And in my thirties, I wished for a man for the holidays.  And peace on earth.

Matthew McConaughey lovers changes

And in my forties, ditto.   And peace on earth.        jeffrey-dean-morgan-as-negan-in-the-walking-dead-season-6-episode-16

And in my fifties, ditto.  And peace on earth.

photo

But now that I’m in my sixties, I know what’s truly important.  Here’s my new wish list.

1. To be a New York Times Best Selling Author (with a really good book. Not just a well-known name)

87cfa4efce1de96adb9152636ce47425
2. Three weeks off with pay in the spring, after the snow is gone but before the stifling heat of summer, and an extra $3,000.00 to spend any way I want without guilt. My car, TV, and cable all working. And catered dinners – really good catered dinners.

blog-caribbean-vacations-cheap-caribbean-caribbean-vacation

potato-salad-with-bbq-ribs-and-dough-balls

3. To be a firm size 16 with a fully stocked walk-in closet (pictured) and the Bunny Williams (she’s a designer) bedroom pictured below in tones of burgundy and brown instead of blue, with an intelligent savvy MALE partner, who both likes and loves me. 

85ff51af645cb7ae25a97d5aacf187cf

clothes-hanger-attached-on-beige-painted-wall-walk-in-closet-small-space-white-finish-cherry-walk-dark-brown-hardwood-floor-dark-brown-finishing-white-wooden-shelving

These last two things, I’ve learned, are ESSENTIAL to everyday life.  Bet you thought I was going to wish for Peace On Earth, didn’t you.

NO WAY! Now that I know the cost.  

And after all, he’s still in the world.

mte1oda0otcxode3oti4mja1

 

A Tiny Kitten With A Big Mouth

By
Eliza D. Ankum
Author of
Flight 404
Ruby Sanders
Jared Anderson
OneThreeThirteen – A Presidential Agent Series
Dancing With The Fat Woman
Thou Shalt Eat Dust
STALKED! By Voices

Oh! we nearly forgot the cocktails.  Life without liquor is almost as bad as Peace on Earth.

2ae89036d28cd32c546975a1f9050b05

 Cheers!

Leave a Reply

