A Woman’s Voice: Book Of Poems

51xqmsyirtl

While I was laying low, trying not to write anything evil about our new President, i.e my views on his travel ban and trying to insure his next election by impeding voter’s rights, I decided to work on another project to divert my attention.

That project is a book of poems entitled, ‘A Woman’s Voice:  Book of Poems.’

I’d like to share with you one of those poems.  It’s entitled, ‘Yellow Dresses.’

Back in the day, I could totally rock a yellow dress, like Tracee Ellis Ross is doing in the picture.  But not so much today.  That is why ‘Yellow Dresses’ is followed by the poem, ‘I Am Becoming A Budgie.’

Yellow Dresses

article-0-1dd19e9300000578-305_634x995

I am Brown!
I am sun scorched and dark
My skin the color of burnt sugar

Yellow is my favorite color
It is the color of eternity
It makes my brown skin glow

Men, when they see me in yellow, hollar
“Hey, big leg girl
Where ya going?
Can I come to?”

Yellow is my favorite color
You see me in no other
Navy blue I am not
Beige is for cowards
Red is for hoes
And that blows
Cause I like red

But yellow is my favorite color

 

I Am Becoming A Budgie

budgie_with_golf_ball

From being a long tall drink of water
I am becoming a short cup of tea

Of course, there’s more to the poem, but you’d have to buy the book to read it.  This book is not on my website or any other place except Amazon.

To buy, click here.

 

By Eliza D. Ankum
Author of
Flight 404
Ruby Sanders – A Novel
Jared Anderson – (The Ruby and Jared Saga)
OneThreeThirteen – A Presidential Agent Novel Series
Dancing With The Fat Woman
Thou Shalt Eat Dust
STALKED! By Voices

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

